The Revised Kyoto Convention has 90 Contracting Parties with the accession of the Republic of Armenia

23 julio 2013

Brussels, 23 July 2013

The Embassy of the Republic of Armenia deposited the country’s instrument of accession to the International Convention on the Simplification and Harmonization of Customs Procedures (Revised Kyoto Convention) with the World Customs Organization on 19 July 2013.

Having entered into force on 3 February 2006, the Revised Kyoto Convention now has 90 Contracting Parties, and is regarded as a blueprint for effective and modern Customs procedures.

Some of the Convention’s key elements include the application of simplified Customs procedures in a predictable and transparent environment, the maximum use of information technology, the utilization of risk management, a strong partnership with the trade and other stakeholders, and a readily accessible system of appeals.

The WCO celebrated the 40th Anniversary of the original Kyoto Convention during the Council sessions of June 2013. On that occasion, Cape Verde, Côte d’Ivoire and Yemen deposited their instruments of accession to the Revised Kyoto Convention.