Opening of the WCO’s 70th Fellowship Programme

20 septiembre 2016

The 70th WCO Fellowship Programme, intended for English-speakers, was launched in Brussels on Monday 19 September 2016.

This Programme forms part of the WCO’s work to develop the management capacities of Member administrations in support of Customs Reform and Modernization programmes. It is designed to provide extremely promising young managers from Member administrations with access to and further familiarization with WCO and international standards, tools and instruments, but also with training in supervisory and management techniques, so as to help them carry out reform and modernization within their respective administrations in a dynamic and sustainable manner.

This latest Programme brings together 15 participants who were welcomed on the 19th by Mr. Ernani Checcucci, Director Capacity Building, World Customs Organization. This introduction serves as a prelude to a series of conferences given by WCO experts, as well as to the eight-day Leadership and Management Development Workshop, facilitated by two experts from Peru and South Africa. The fellows also benefited from a round-table discussion with Mr. Mikuriya, Secretary General of the WCO, during their first day at the Secretariat.

The participants will remain at WCO Headquarters until 14 October 2016 in order to prepare an in-depth study on a technical subject of their choice, under the supervision of a Secretariat tutor, and to make recommendations to their respective administrations for possible subsequent implementation. Lastly the participants will spend a fortnight in one of the Programme’s partner Administrations (the Republic of Korea, the People’s Republic of China or Japan) to round off their study trip.

The English-speaking Fellowship Programme is funded by the Customs Administrations of Japan, China and the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Korea.

List of countries participating in the 70th Fellowship Programme: Bhutan, Iran, Maldives, Namibia, Ghana, India, Indonesia, Malawi, St Lucia, South Africa, Zambia, Bangladesh, Belarus, Rwanda and Uganda.