WCO and EEC sign MoU to enhance cooperation

20 June 2016

On 17 June 2016, the Member of the Board (Minister) for Customs Cooperation of the Eurasian Economic Commission (EEC), Mr. Mukai Kadyrkulov, visited WCO Headquarters for discussions with WCO Secretary General Kunio Mikuriya on topics of mutual interest.

The talks focused on future cooperation between the two bodies over a range of Customs areas, on the use of WCO standards to improve Customs regulations and procedures, and on the development and status of regional economic communities.

During the meeting, a Memorandum of Understanding was signed by Secretary General Mikuriya and Mr. Kadyrkulov to give concrete form to the cooperation established between the WCO and EEC.   

The Eurasian Economic Union, of which the EEC is an institutional body, was founded by Treaty on 29 May 2014 and has five Members : Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan and the Russian Federation.