Esta página no está disponible en el idioma seleccionado Spanish : Español y la proponemos por consiguiente en English : English.

WCO-EAC AEO project pilot phase successfully launched

05 octubre 2011
WCO-EAC AEO project pilot phase successfully launched


Brussels, 5 October 2011

On October 5 2011, the 8th Steering Committee meeting of the WCO EAC Customs Modernization and Trade Facilitation project, sponsored by the Swedish International Development Agency (SIDA), was held in Dar Es Salaam, Tanzania. The meeting was chaired by Harry Kitilya, Commissioner General of Tanzania Revenue Authority, who in his opening remarks highlighted the importance of this initiative and its foreseen impact in lowering the cost of doing business in the region, encouraging entrepreneurship and ultimately contributing to economic development.

The project aims at introducing a regional Authorized Economic Operator (AEO) framework which meets the global standards and a regional model for mutual recognition of AEO status in line with the WCO SAFE Framework of Standards.

The Steering Committee approved the EAC AEO pilot programme selection criteria, the list of selected operators, the pilot sites and the timetable for the implementation of pilot phase. A marketing and communication plan for the Project in the region will be developed and in addition, a Time Release Study will soon be conducted to collect baseline data that will be used to accurately measure the efficiency and effecitveness of the project.

The Steering Committee meeting marked the official launch of the pilot phase of the EAC AEO Programme during which participants witnessed the handing over of the Chair of the Steering Committee of the Project from the Commissioner General of Tanzania Revenue Authority, who has been chairing the project since April 2010 to the Commissioner General of Kenya Revenue Authority. WCO Capacity Building Director, Erich Kieck attended the meeting together with Kenneth Bagamahunda from the East African Community Secretariat as well as senior EAC business leaders.